Skip to content

Shortlist Announced for the DN21 Awards!

Shortlist Announced for the DN21 Awards!
« Back to news

Shortlist Announced for the DN21 Awards!

19 May 2017

The judges for the DN21 Awards have announced their shortlist of hopefuls as Gainsborough prepares for its own glittering awards ceremony on Thursday June 1.

The event is being staged for the third year as a result of a partnership formed between the town's shopping centre, Marshal's Yard and Trinity Football Club – the two organisations decided in 2015 it was time to recognise and celebrate the great business community which Gainsborough boasts.

Gainsborough Trinity FC Chairman, Richard Kane, said: "We are extremely excited to host the DN21 Awards for the businesses in the town and have been overwhelmed once again by the response. We received over 100 entries and the calibre was extremely high making this a difficult task for our judges who have mystery shopped and interviewed the shortlisted candidates."

Ten awards will be given out in total at the glitzy event which is due to be held at The Blue's Club. The categories include: Customer Service Team of the Year, Community Engagement Award, Best Family Run Business, Independent Retailer of the Year, Business of the Year, Business Person of the Year, Shining Star Individual Award, Best New Business and an award for the best Social Media campaign.

Over the past two months the businesses have been busy nominating themselves and their colleagues for the awards and the independent judges, Ian Green, Relationships Manager for HSBC and Lindsay Rubie, Head of Business Development and Marketing for Wilkin Chapman LLP have determined the winners. 

The shortlisted businesses are as follows:-

Community Engagement Award - Sponsored by Noble Foods
Williamsons Farm
Riverside Training
Fay’s Zumba

Shining Star Individual Award - Sponsored by Gainsborough Town Council
Paula Phillips (M&S)
Nicola Truesdale (Sweet Traditions)
Tracy Ward (Browns)

Customer Service Team of the Year - Sponsored by Gainsborough Golf Club
Barnes Jewellers
Laura Ashley

Independent Retailer of the Year - Sponsored by West Lindsey District Council
Pink Pamper
Chic of Gainsborough

Jasmine Tree
The Florist

Business Person of the Year - Sponsored by Horsleys
Mel Booth (GB Scaffolding)
Darron Childs (Darron Childs)
Wendy Stephenson (Browns)

Best Family Run Business - Sponsored by Burton & Dyson Solicitors
AMP Rose
Adams Bay

Walters Opticians

Business of the Year - Sponsored by HSBC
Sills & Betteridge
Kal Group
Nationwide Traffic Solutions

Best New Business - Sponsored by Wright Vigar
Fun Printz
Blush Venue Décor

Social Media - Sponsored by MMC
Fun Printz
Nationwide Traffic Solutions

In addition to these nine awards, the public have been invited to vote for their ‘Retailer of the Year’, sponsored by Pygott & Crone, by giving their vote to the store who they feel deserves to win.

Centre Manager at Marshall’s Yard, Alison Hall said ‘We are really excited about holding these awards again this year joining up with the whole town. The businesses which have been shortlisted are delighted with the news and there is a real buzz of excitement in Gainsborough at the moment.’

Pictured: Richard Kane with Alison Hall. 

For further information, contact:-

Alison Hall
Centre Manager, Marshall's Yard
Tel: 01427 810706


Public Relations Department, Dransfield Properties Ltd
Tel: 01226 360644

Share this page